Where I’ve been

We moved here in June:

Fen Ridge House Fen Ridge House
Obviously, I’ve not been blogging. I also didn’t really garden this year, or do many Preserving Traditions events. I’ve not gone on many trips, or gone out with friends.

So what have I done?

The new hearth and stove I’ve been reveling in the astonishing beauty of this place, the tranquility of the land, recovering from an insanely stressful work project, and largely reclaiming my self as a healthy, rested forest creature. We sold the old house in September to some wonderful folks who will take good care of it. The big must-fix items (wood stove; insulation) have been taken care of. First garden bed I’ve made a good dent in the honeysuckle, autumn olive, ailanthus, and buckthorn, and put in one garden bed which may or may not get enough sun. (We’ll see.) We’ve had family and friends to share the joy of this place, and to our delight, it makes them happy, too. I’ve slept, rested, done yoga, read books, and looked my sweetie in the eye every single day and we have together given thanks for this move.

And now I’m almost ready to start sharing some of the interesting aspects and puzzling questions about this house with the rest of the world.  It’s a passive solar house, and I’d like to share with you some of the things about it that do work, don’t work, and might work. There’s so much passive solar theory out there – did you ever wonder how well it actually works? Well…I’ll try to live out loud a bit here to share that with you.

But I tell you – if that sunbeam calls me, you might not get posts for weeks at a time. And I won’t regret it.papasan sunbeam

3 Comments

  1. Diana Dyer said,

    November 30, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    Congratulations, Emily, for finding this spot that needs you, taking care of yourself, and (when you are ready) sharing your joy with the rest of us. 🙂

    • Emily said,

      December 1, 2012 at 5:02 pm

      Thanks, Diana! I wouldn’t say I was “sad” before, but this happiness is kind of off the charts. 🙂

  2. ahautevoixdotcom said,

    December 4, 2012 at 9:26 am

    The sunbeam spot! I am a big fan. : D
    It’s interesting to already start to see how the sunlight angles and the roof angles work with each other in the design of the house in summer versus winter. That’s so neat!


Leave a Reply

