Dinner made of fabulosity




Cheese and salami dinner

Originally uploaded by espring4224

Scott and I made a deal that when the weather was cool enough for the first fire of the season, we’d scarper off to Morgan & York, pick up some salami and cheese, and have a dinner picnic in front of the fire.

That auspicious day was today. And oh, my. It was lovely. Hatfield’s “hillbilly bacon,” which is cold-hickory-smoked pork shoulder, a nice fennel sopresata, garroxta (hard goat cheese with an ashy rind), Rockin’ Red Ale bread, a tart crisp apple, and cider.

It was so good, and such an “us” meal, that I said I’d love to have this for an anniversary dinner. “But our anniversary is in August, and too warm for a fire,” my wise sweetie pointed out.

“How about our half-iversary? That would be…”

“…almost exactly Valentine’s Day!”

“Ok, but…we need to also add the chocolate grazing platter to the meat and cheese.”

And so are great plans laid…

Published by Emily

I'm an instructional designer and gardener based in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Free moments find me in my garden or the forest, hugging trees and all that jazz.

4 thoughts on “Dinner made of fabulosity

  1. Reminds me of those popcorn, cheese and apple Sunday suppers on the little table and chairs in front of “potbelly”!

Leave a comment