What Can I Do With Dehydrated Cabbage?

I dehydrate a LOT of cabbage. And every time I mention that I do, people ask me what on earth I do with it.

Mostly, I use it for quick vegetable filler in soups and rice dishes. Along with dehydrated kale, zucchini, and onions (usually green), I put it in almost anything I’m cooking with broth in the winter. It’s one of my “secret kitchen prep hacks” that lets either of us throw dinner together in, like, 20 minutes. Perfect for those nights I Just Can’t With The Cooking.

So here are some things we make a lot:

  • Weeknight paella – this is more like a paella valenciana, so it has chicken and sausage, but no seafood. Vegan options possible.
  • Sausage, kale, and potato chowder – can be made with all-dehydrated vegetables and home-canned broth and beans
  • Non-dairy barley risotto – a little less of a carb punch than the white rice kind, made with your choice of whole grain
  • Jambalaya soup – not authentic, obviously, but a good hearty weeknight dinner
  • Rice pilaf – add protein and this becomes a full meal

Published by Emily

I'm an instructional designer and gardener based in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Free moments find me in my garden or the forest, hugging trees and all that jazz.

Leave a comment